Kramer receives national recognition

AshleyKramerAn employee of GreyStone Power Corporation has earned recognition as a professional communicator in a national program offered by the Council of Rural Electric Communicators, which is affiliated with the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA).

Ashley Kramer, a public relations and communications coordinator for GreyStone, met the requirements to become a Certified Cooperative Communicator (CCC), according to Vicki Harshbarger, department manager of public relations and communications.

In order to achieve certification, Kramer had to meet the program requirements and submit a portfolio of work samples in the field of mass communication and/or marketing communication for evaluation. Candidates’ portfolios are judged by peers, communicators in the electric co-op industry who have already earned the CCC designation. Kramer’s work was chosen as a sample portfolio to be displayed at various CCC program orientation activities.

Having passed the portfolio evaluation, Kramer then took a four-hour written examination administered by an educational consulting firm whose principals conduct similar examinations for many national organizations throughout the United States. The exam is based on an industry-related body of knowledge that covers electricity and cooperatives, as well as communications, marketing and public relations practices.

Harshbarger said the CCC credential is offered by the national organization in order to improve the practice of mass communication and marketing communication in the electric cooperative field. This is done through the establishment of professional development goals, identification of a body of knowledge and skills necessary to the practice of electric co-ops communication, and recognition of those individuals who have demonstrated a professional level of excellence.

Since 1985, when the program began, more than 300 electric cooperative communicators have attained CCC status. The CCC program is entirely voluntary.

The CCC Program Board of Directors governs the program. It is composed of 10 CCCs who are elected from CCCs who are still employed in the electric co-op industry. Board members, who serve two-year terms, are responsible for setting policy and program guidelines; NRECA staff administers the program.

NRECA is the national service organization that represents the nation’s more than 900 consumer-owned electric cooperatives, which provide service to more than 37 million people in 47 states.

GreyStone Power serves more than 106,500 members in portions of eight counties, including Paulding, Douglas, Fulton, Cobb, Carroll, Bartow, Fayette and Coweta counties. Learn more at

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: