DC Chamber Selects 2017-2018 Youth Leadership Douglas Class

The Douglas County Chamber is pleased to announce the selection of 54 students from the community to serve as the Youth Leadership Douglas (YLD) students for the 2017-2018 school year. These students are juniors in local Douglas County high schools and local private schools.

Youth Leadership Douglas gives the students the opportunity to acquire and broaden their knowledge of not only social and business etiquette but also of local government, business, and civic activities through a five-month leadership program. The program is coordinated by Sara Ray, from the DC Chamber, and Whitney Lester from the DC School System. Co-Chairs, Brittany Barron, from Mercer University and Daniel Manny, from the Water & Sewer Authority, lead the students through the program. This program provides students with personal and professional development opportunities that cater to each individual.

Students completed a competitive application, and interview process and 54 students were selected from Alexander, Douglas County, Chapel Hill, Lithia Springs, New Manchester High Schools as well as Harvester Christian Academy, and Landmark Christian School. They will visit public safety facilities, learn about history and culture, water resources, and develop leadership skills. The program will consist of Summer, Fall and Spring sessions.

There is no availability in the program for the 2017-2018 school year, but applications for the program will be available to high school sophomores in February 2018. For more information on this program, visit www.douglascountygeorgia.com/leadership.


DC Chamber Selects 2017-2018 Youth Leadership Douglas Class

Summer 2017: Max Antonovich, Arie Black, Abby Daniel, Deeana Dayal, Emily Frost, Grayson Jones, Karen Lindstrom, Baileigh Maxwell, Rafael Paschal, Sydney Villafana, Donte’ Wiggleton, and Colton Wooster.

C Chamber Selects 2017-2018 Youth Leadership Douglas Class

Fall 2017: Carter Armstrong, James Benedict, Maia Bliss, Jayden Braxton, Cason Brown, Macie Davis, Kyanna Fletcher, Molly Gilbert, Kennidi Harvey, Arianna Henderson, Jack Johnson, Carsen Kimbrough, Chase Ledgerwood, Aniyah Lewis, Macy McIntosh, Zenaii Smith, Chantz Sorrows, Thalia Tyson, Andrew Walker, Mina Wallace, and Reece White.

DC Chamber Selects 2017-2018 Youth Leadership Douglas Class

Spring 2018: Kiernan Alexander, Syedah Asghar, Abigail Benedict, Taylor Blastow, Will Blevins, Jason Dean, Maris Dever, Ramaes Glover, Trent Griffin, Emmanual Lawrence, Chole Mitchell, Lindsay Price, Amari Robinson, Corey Schloupt, Katelyn Sorhaindo, Jada Taylor, Janiya Traynham, Kelly Vereen, Zaria White, and Jacob Williams.

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: